Monday, March 2, 2009

Pete, on Cheesecake

Well once again I made an idiot out of myself. On a whim, I flew to Los Angeles to go see a friend. At her church, they were having their own version of the Golden Globe awards for home movies made by the people attending, it was so much fun. The videos were absolutely hilarious and everyone was all decked out in formal wear; they even had a red carpet!

When it comes to big events, I seem to have a propensity for organization. I’m a man of action! They obviously recognized this the moment they met me…and they put me in charge of the food and drink table haha. So there I sat, minding the chocolate fondue fountain and punchbowl when an absolutely gorgeous Latina in a very elegant nightgown came up and started talking to me. We talked about the funny videos and she told me about the part that she had played in one of them, the conversation was going right along. But then I asked her where she worked and she told me it was a cheesecake factory. Or at least that’s what I heard; she actually said the cheesecake factory.

Never having heard of a cheesecake factory, much less met anyone who worked at one, I was intrigued. In my head I imagined lines of workers busily building cheesecakes, a regular assembly line. I asked a few more questions about her work and at first she just laughed a little and then she started giving me puzzled looks. It turns out that there is a chain of restaurants called The Cheesecake Factory and she was a waitress there.

I generally don’t have a lot of blonde moments, but lemme tell ya that was a doozy. Ah well, all I could do was laugh about it today when I saw her again.

In other news; currently reading “The 4-Hour workweek” by Timothy Ferriss. Very interesting so far, this man has it in him to become my idol. Who wouldn’t want to win a world championship ballroom dance competition and be a national Chinese kickboxing champion? And write books, and make buttloads of money, and be a Chinese movie star? AND be under 30? Me! Who’s down for an adventure? Anybody? C'mon you student schmucks lol

No comments:

Post a Comment